Feb 3

Feb 3

  1. Reading about the pro’s/con’s of the SCOTUS situation.  I’m interested in what other’s think, and to that end, put up a blog so that we can collect resources and have a dedicated comment string on that topic.  SCOTUS Nomination/Confirmation WW Indivisible
  2. DailyKos – Tiffany sent me several links from this site, and the one yesterday with video of a congressional staffer saying that Indivisible “broke his Blackberry” made me laugh.  I’m in!  This is the largest progressive political community online. (Why did I wait?)  I read the Rules of the Road and found them to be some of the best I’ve ever seen for mitigating the online spaces that we communicate in.  #HashtagHeaven!
  3. Rep Cathy McMorris Rodgers: Since she doesn’t have a role in the nominations/confirmations process, I’m planning to daily ask her for a regular schedule of eastern Washington town hall meetings. What do you think?
  4. I’m really liking Countable.  They lay out information on both sides of issues.  I haven’t found much yet that helps with our Nominations/Confirmation focus, but all of the other information is useful in the bigger picture.
  5. DeVos Update: The Senate invoked cloture, which means that they have “up to 30 hours of post-cloture debate before a vote on confirmation.” Today they adjourned at 1:30 with this note: The Senate will convene at 12:00 Noon on Monday, February 6th and will proceed to a period of Morning Business for Leader remarks. Following Leader remarks, the Senate will proceed to an Executive Session to resume consideration of Cal. #11, Elisabeth P. DeVos to be Secretary of Education.
2 thoughts on “Feb 3

    1. I just talked to Murray’s Seattle voice mail and suggested that she make some new friends this weekend in preparation for Monday’s Vote on DeVos. I updates the daily message with information on how to make sense of the cloture vote today.

Leave a Reply

